Print Page | Close Window

Studing outside of Canada

Printed From: Canada Immigration and Visa Discussion Forum
Category: Canada Immigration Topics
Forum Name: Preserving Permanent Residence Status
Forum Description: How long can a permanent resident remain outside of Canada? Commentaries on preserving permanent residence.
URL: https://secure.immigration.ca/forum/forum_posts.asp?TID=1245
Printed Date: 30 May 2024 at 8:44pm

Topic: Studing outside of Canada
Posted By: afterlove91
Subject: Studing outside of Canada
Date Posted: 19 Feb 2010 at 5:48pm
Hello! I am new to this messaging board, but I have a situation on my hands.

I am a university student and have been offered an undergraduate fellowship to study in America for summertime, but I have no student visa and my permanent residency is still 'in process' after three years of being here. I do have OHIP, license, etc but no PR card or landed paper. I am a dependent.

I must make my decision to go by this Friday, or else I will lose my spot. It is a very competitive summer research geology fellowship and I really want to go!!  

Any comments will be appreciated.

Thanks to you all.

-------------
C.O.

Replies:
Posted By: canvis2006
Date Posted: 20 Feb 2010 at 11:30am
What's your status in Canada ?
You're a dependant on parents? what is the category of PR application you/your family applied for?

If there is no risk to your PR application, then go for it.
Otherwise I would suggest you to wait for PR status and then go study in another country......

Another question: Since you're not a PR here, will the USA give you a visa to study in their country? It's not a guarantee, it also depends on your nationality.....some face more scrutiny than others.....

it's all dependent on your priorities/status/nationality, etc......

Posted By: afterlove91
Date Posted: 21 Feb 2010 at 5:05pm
I am American by birthright and my PR application is 'in processing'

-------------
C.O.

Posted By: canvis2006