Canada Immigration and Visa Discussion Forum Homepage
Forum Home Forum Home > Canada Immigration Topics > Preserving Permanent Residence Status
  New Posts New Posts RSS Feed - ...about preserving residency and applying citizen
  FAQ FAQ  Forum Search   Events   Register Register  Login Login

...about preserving residency and applying citizen

Post Reply Post Reply
Author

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote judy003 Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Topic: ...about preserving residency and applying citizen
    Posted: 03 Feb 2012 at 11:21pm
Hello everyone,

I hope you can help me, I am not sure about some things:

I am currently a permanent resident and have live for almost one and a half years in the last 2 years. I am currently out of the country but will return shortly. In this case, if I stay only for 6 more months does that mean I have a 3 year timeframe if I want to go back to Canada or not??

...I heard it also counted if you were in your country but working at a Canadian organization,,,is this true?? what are some examples of these organizations??

lastly, If I wanted to apply for Citizenship, then I would probably have to stay in Canada for one and a half more years to complete the 3 years in a 4 year period. In this case, once I apply, since it takes 19 months up to the ceremony,,,,could I be living outside Canada or do I also have to stay during all this time,,,or just the 3 years, apply and leave while the application is in process???

thank you

Judy
dpenabill View Drop Down
Top Member
Top Member

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote dpenabill Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 04 Feb 2012 at 9:36am
PR residency obligation:

The PR residency obligation is best explained in the guide for applying for a PR card, in Appendix A. The guide is found here (this is a link).