Canada Immigration and Visa Discussion Forum Homepage
Forum Home Forum Home > Canada Visa / Temporary Entry Topics > Work Visa
  New Posts New Posts RSS Feed - Change of Employer before LMO Work Permit expires
  FAQ FAQ  Forum Search   Events   Register Register  Login Login

Change of Employer before LMO Work Permit expires

Post Reply Post Reply
Author

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote chocotruffle Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Topic: Change of Employer before LMO Work Permit expires
    Posted: 11 Jun 2013 at 1:04am
Hi All,
I work in IT, have 9 yrs of rich exp and in Canada for last 6 months.
I have my LMO WP expiring in Oct 2013 first week. My employer doesn't seem keen to file for my LMO extension as it fears that my extn might get rejected due to the ongoing changes in the immigration laws in the interest of Canadians, because of the RBC-igate scandal.

My questions is, if my current employer doesn't file my extension, then can I find another employer who can file for a fresh LMO WP and resign from my current job? Can my new employer start the LMO filing process for me while I am still in the current job or the new employer can only file for my LMO once I totally quit the job?

Also, my visa expires in Nov 2013, so could it be a deterrent in my LMO WP extension?

Thanks.
pmm View Drop Down
Top Member
Top Member

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote pmm Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 11 Jun 2013 at 2:15pm
Hi

Originally posted by chocotruffle chocotruffle wrote:

Hi All,
I work in IT, have 9 yrs of rich exp and in Canada for last 6 months.
I have my LMO WP expiring in Oct 2013 first week. My employer doesn't seem keen to file for my LMO extension as it fears that my extn might get rejected due to the ongoing changes in the immigration laws in the interest of Canadians, because of the RBC-igate scandal.