Canada Immigration and Visa Discussion Forum Homepage
Forum Home Forum Home > Canada Visa / Temporary Entry Topics > Work Visa
  FAQ FAQ  Forum Search   Events   Register Register  Login Login

Extension

Post Reply Post Reply
Author

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote btmilan Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Topic: Extension
    Posted: 07 Feb 2010 at 10:48pm
I am a pastor at a church in Manitoba.  I am eligible to work without a work permit because I am clergy.  My visitor record runs out at the end of the month.  I have just sent off to extend it.  I have been offered a position at another church that wants me as soon as possible.  Is there any way to do this other than waiting for my extension and then applying to change conditions on my visitor visa and waiting another 2 and a half months?

For example, can I go back to the States (my home country) and then come back through with a letter from the new church offering me the job (like I did the first time) and reapply for a new visa at the door?
job_seeker View Drop Down

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote job_seeker Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 08 Feb 2010 at 2:22pm
Originally posted by btmilan btmilan wrote:

I am a pastor at a church in Manitoba.  I am eligible to work without a work permit because I am clergy.  My visitor record runs out at the end of the month.  I have just sent off to extend it.  I have been offered a position at another church that wants me as soon as possible.  Is there any way to do this other than waiting for my extension and then applying to change conditions on my visitor visa and waiting another 2 and a half months?For example, can I go back to the States (my home country) and then come back through with a letter from the new church offering me the job (like I did the first time) and reapply for a new visa at the door?