Canada Immigration and Visa Discussion Forum Homepage
Forum Home Forum Home > Canada Immigration Topics > Preserving Permanent Residence Status
  FAQ FAQ  Forum Search   Events   Register Register  Login Login

60 days quiet period after PR expiry

Post Reply Post Reply
Author

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Paul1234 Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Topic: 60 days quiet period after PR expiry
    Posted: 18 Sep 2012 at 4:20pm
Hello.

I was a permanent resident of Canada but the residency card expired in August of 2011.  I applied for a travel document in the fall of 2011 and was granted a travel document that was  valid until April 2012. Based on the 730 days calculation it would appear that I do not meet the requirements to obtain another travel document.

I have the following questions for you:
- If I do not meet the 730 days requirement, does that mean that I am not a permanent resident any more?
- If I plan to apply for work in Canada and aim to find an employer that will apply for a work permit for me, do I first have to clarify my permanent residency status by applying for a travel document before the employer can apply for a work visa for me?
- If the travel document is not granted, I understand that there is a 60 day period within which I could appeal a negative decision on the travel document. Is it correct that I have to wait for this 60 day period to pass before I or an employer could apply for another visa?

Thank you very much for your help in advance.
canvis2006 View Drop Down
Moderator Group
Moderator Group

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote canvis2006 Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 18 Sep 2012 at 5:24pm
Apply for the TD and go from there.

It's not that easy to find an employer willing to do paperwork for work visa. HRSDC and CIC take a while for paperwork too.

Keep that in mind.
jogruni View Drop Down