Canada Immigration and Visa Discussion Forum Homepage
Forum Home Forum Home > Canada Immigration Topics > Family Class Sponsorship
  FAQ FAQ  Forum Search   Events   Register Register  Login Login

Marriage Certificate

Post Reply Post Reply
Author

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote anish_s Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Topic: Marriage Certificate
    Posted: 25 Jan 2010 at 3:33pm
Greetings!

I am a permanent resident since December 2007. I landed in Toronto but immediately moved to Montreal. I recently got married in Costa Rica and would now like to sponsor my spouse to move with me. My wife currently does not hold a valid passport since, she is a refugee but, she does hold a Travel document issued by the authorities in Costa Rica. The tarvel document is valid for a year and is renewable. Also, I can only obtain a Marriage Certificate from the Costa Rican registrar only in March.

* Is it advisable to apply for sponsorship now? and then submit the marriage certificate later once I have them or do I have to wait until I obtain the certificate.
* Do I have to do anything special since my wife will reside with me in the province of Quebec?
* In the application form, there is a section where I have to mention my monthly income for the last 5 years. Do I only fill in my employment history in Canada or do I have to mention how much I earned even before I landed in Canada?
* Any idea on the processing times? My wife is fluent in French and can easily also qualify to emigrate to Quebec even without a sponsorship.

Thanks very much in advance.

RobsLuv View Drop Down

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote RobsLuv Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 25 Jan 2010 at 5:13pm