Canada Immigration and Visa Discussion Forum Homepage
Forum Home Forum Home > Canada Immigration Topics > Preserving Permanent Residence Status
  FAQ FAQ  Forum Search   Events   Register Register  Login Login

Risk of losing PR

Post Reply Post Reply
Author

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote hady96 Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Topic: Risk of losing PR
    Posted: 22 Sep 2011 at 9:11am
Hello All.

I'm a high school student in Kuwait. I landed in Canada with my mother in June 2008 and our PR is due to expire in 2013.

I will be moving to Canada for university next June (June 2012) . I will be almost 18 by that time.

However, I will have spent 4 years outside Canada and thus not meeting the residency obligation.

What's going to happen in such case ? Would it be possible to appeal the revoke of PR status ? In case of losing, am I going to be deported from Canada ?

Do I have any chance of renewing on H&C grounds , I was 14 when I landed in Canada and I couldn't settle there because my mother couldn't find a job at all and she is my only financial supporter (My father died in 2002) , so I wasn't able to move and go to school in Canada by myself because I had no one to support me financially. Are they going to consider that in the appeal ?

I mean I was younger than 18 and I could do nothing about my mother's situation and I also couldn't stay
in Canada alone because I was still a child.

I intend to attend university in Canada and live there permanently now that I will be over 18.

Is there any possible way for me to avoid deportation. Please share your thoughts with me

Thank you
Harmonia View Drop Down

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Harmonia Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 22 Sep 2011 at 12:50pm