Canada Immigration and Visa Discussion Forum Homepage
Forum Home Forum Home > Canada Immigration Topics > Family Class Sponsorship
  FAQ FAQ  Forum Search   Events   Register Register  Login Login

Sponsoring

Post Reply Post Reply
Author

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote jchevais Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Topic: Sponsoring
    Posted: 08 Sep 2011 at 10:44am
I am new to this whole immigration thing and I'm finding it to be a bit of a headache (big surprise, I'm sure it's a headache on purpose).

Brass tacks:  I'm a Canadian living in Western Europe (since 1997) and now my spouse (French) and my 3 children (Dual French and Canadian citizens) would like to return to my hometown in Western Canada.

I understand that I need to sponsor my husband (the only non-Canadian of the bunch) for his permanent residence papers but how can I prove that I'm returning to Canada?  Do I have to go on ahead, get a job/rent a house and then sponsor him?  (because from what I understand, the sponsorship papers have to be approved before the applicant's papers are even looked at)

Do I really have to break up the family like that?

And can anyone point me in the direction of how long the Paris processing times are?

Many thanks in advance.
pmm View Drop Down
Top Member
Top Member

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote pmm Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 08 Sep 2011 at 2:04pm
Hi

Originally posted by jchevais jchevais wrote:

I am new to this whole immigration thing and I'm finding it to be a bit of a headache (big surprise, I'm sure it's a headache on purpose).

Brass tacks:  I'm a Canadian living in Western Europe (since 1997) and now my spouse (French) and my 3 children (Dual French and Canadian citizens) would like to return to my hometown in Western Canada.