Canada Immigration and Visa Discussion Forum Homepage
Forum Home Forum Home > Canada Immigration Topics > Family Class Sponsorship
  FAQ FAQ  Forum Search   Events   Register Register  Login Login

Sponsor Spouse from within the US

Post Reply Post Reply
Author

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote dude9er Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Topic: Sponsor Spouse from within the US
    Posted: 19 Jul 2010 at 2:58pm
My wife (american) and I (canadian) are thinking about moving to Canada from the US after living in the US for  the last 5 years.  I will of course be sponsoring my wife, however what kind of application do I submit, In Canada or Out Canada and which is faster?  Would it be easier to regain my Canadian residency in order to proceed?  Also, approximately how long does the process take?

I am just beginning to research the process so thanks everyone who helps!!!
scylla View Drop Down
Top Member
Top Member

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote scylla Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 19 Jul 2010 at 3:12pm
Out of Canada is faster.

The first stage (sponsor approval via Mississauga) takes approximately a month. The second stage (processing through Buffalo office) takes 4-10 months for 80% of applications. These stats are posted here:

http://www.cic.gc.ca/english/information/times/international/05-fc-spouses.asp

Are you a Canadian citizen? If you are a Canadian citizen then you can sponsor your wife while still living outside of the country. However you will have to provide proof that you plan to re-establish yourself in Canada as soon as her PR is approved (e.g. job offer, rental agreement, mortgage, etc.)

If you are a PR, then you can only sponsor from within Canada.
Outland Spousal (Buffalo):
App recd: 05/28/2010
Sponsor approved: 06/28/2010
Processing started: 08/19/2010
Passport request: 10/01/2010
Landed: 10/05/2010
dude9er View Drop Down