Canada Immigration and Visa Discussion Forum Homepage
Forum Home Forum Home > Canada Immigration Topics > Canadian Citizenship
  FAQ FAQ  Forum Search   Events   Register Register  Login Login

dual residence status and citizenship

Post Reply Post Reply
Author

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote ab_alireza Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Topic: dual residence status and citizenship
    Posted: 08 Jul 2010 at 1:36pm
Hello there:
I am going to apply for citizenship in a few months, and I have been a permanent resident for the past 5 years and I adequately meet the 1095 days in Canada. 

My problem is that I also have a US permanent residence status (the Green Card) and I got it almost at the same time as I got my Canadian permanent residency. I did not plan for it as I got lucky and won the DV Lottery. 

Now in the citizenship application it asks if I have any other permanent resident status with other countries? I have to say yes as i don't want to lie. But does anyone know if having dual residence status will trouble me with Canadian citizenship? will they refuse my application because of that?

I appreciate it if anyone who has had a similar problem or knows about the rules can guide me with this.

Thank you very much,
Alireza 
Beaver View Drop Down

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Beaver Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 08 Jul 2010 at 3:34pm
Your application cannot be refused just because you are a US Green card holder. However your application has a good chance for it getting delayed, because CIC needs to make certain that you have actually been present in Canada for at least 1095 of the four year period before you signed your application. Having a PR status in the US understandably can cause doubt for CIC that you have actually lived in Canada as you will have claimed.