Canada Immigration and Visa Discussion Forum Homepage
Forum Home Forum Home > Canada Immigration Topics > Canadian Citizenship
  FAQ FAQ  Forum Search   Events   Register Register  Login Login

Bankruptcy while waiting for citizenship

Post Reply Post Reply
Author

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Koryo Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Topic: Bankruptcy while waiting for citizenship
    Posted: 24 Mar 2010 at 10:28am
Hi everyone, I hope you can help us with this one.

My husband and I have had hit some really rough spots financially over the past couple of years and our debts are joint. He's a Canadian citizen, he sponsored me in early 2005 and I've been a permanent resident since July 2005. I applied for Canadian citizenship in March 2009 and the application has been in process since November 2009 so we're expecting it to be completed within the next four to six months.

As our financial situation seems to be insurmountable and we're being hounded by creditors, we're considering filing for bankruptcy soon. Our biggest worry is whether this will affect my citizenship application. Because of our finances, we're not able to go speak with an immigration lawyer. I hope you can help us answer this...

Thank you!
sputnikx View Drop Down

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote sputnikx Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 24 Mar 2010 at 11:35am
Citizenship is determined by your residency in Canada. Bankruptcy or your financial situation have no bearing, unless it has a criminal background.

According to CIC, you cannot become a citizen if you:

• have been convicted of an indictable (criminal) offence or an offence under the Citizenship Act in the three years before you apply
  • are currently charged with an indictable offence or an offence under the Citizenship Act
  • are in prison, on parole or on probation
  • are under a removal order (have been ordered by Canadian officials to leave Canada)