Canada Immigration and Visa Discussion Forum Homepage
Forum Home Forum Home > Canada Visa / Temporary Entry Topics > Work Visa
  FAQ FAQ  Forum Search   Events   Register Register  Login Login

Open Work Permit for Common Law

Post Reply Post Reply
Author

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote alm85 Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Topic: Open Work Permit for Common Law
    Posted: 03 Sep 2012 at 10:17pm
Dear Community,

I am an international graduate student in Ontario. I have been together with my girlfriend for one year now - the first 4 months we lived together in our home country, then I left to Canada and 3 months later she came on a toursit visa (6 months). These last 6 months we lived together, sharing everything from bank to house. She has reference and recommendation letters from employers that she volunteerd for.

We want to apply for an open work permit for her, based on our common law union.

For the time spent in our home country, we don't have anything else other than some photos and delcarations from our parents and friends, as we were still students, with no big belongings to share.

We are unsure about how many declarations from friends/familiy to include, as well as the level of detail that these need to go in. We are a bit apprehensive that handing in a too ample application might not work in our favor. 

What is your experience with this and your suggestions? 

Thank you kindly
scylla View Drop Down
Top Member
Top Member

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote scylla Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 03 Sep 2012 at 11:39pm
You're not common law yet. You need one full year of living together to qualify for common law.