Canada Immigration and Visa Discussion Forum Homepage
Forum Home Forum Home > Canada Immigration Topics > Business / Investor Immigration
  FAQ FAQ  Forum Search   Events   Register Register  Login Login

self employed musician PR?

Post Reply Post Reply
Author

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote guitarguy Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Topic: self employed musician PR?
    Posted: 22 Jun 2012 at 6:37pm
Hi guys,

A newbie in the forum here. A little bit of my background: I graduated with a Bachelor degree in music from York U, and now I have a post graduation open work permit until August 2013.

Right now I'm self employed as a musician and guitar teacher. I'm wondering if anyone here has any experience or know anything about applying Permanent Residency under self-employed category as a musician. The requirements in CIC website are pretty loose, such as "self-employed activity", "participation in world class cultural activities". I have a hard time understanding these and trying to figure out how to prove my self-employment and my involvement in musical activities.

Another thing, can you guys recommend any lawyer/law firm in Toronto that has a good reputation in self-employed application? I already talked to a couple that said they can help me, but I'm not 100% sure. I just don't want to get scammed and ripped off. It's quite a lot of money.

Thank you

Edited by guitarguy - 22 Jun 2012 at 6:39pm
computergeek View Drop Down

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote computergeek Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 22 Jun 2012 at 7:30pm
If you have not already reviewed OP 8 ("Entrepreneur and Self-Employed" - http://www.cic.gc.ca/english/resources/m...8-eng.pdf) and OB 430 ("Centralized Intake of Federal Self-employed Persons Class and Quebec Business Class Applications" - http://www.cic.gc.ca/english/resources/m...ob430.asp) I would do so.

Section 6.15 of OP 8 defines "self-employed" as: