Canada Immigration and Visa Discussion Forum Homepage
Forum Home Forum Home > Canada Immigration Topics > Preserving Permanent Residence Status
  FAQ FAQ  Forum Search   Events   Register Register  Login Login

PR card renewal

Post Reply Post Reply
Author

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Shoayeb Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Topic: PR card renewal
    Posted: 07 Nov 2015 at 7:15pm
Hello,

I am a permanent resident to Canada.  I entered into Canada on March 2009 as a permanent resident and left Canada April 2009.  I returned to Canada on August 2013 and from that time I am living here and as a permanent resident.  On March 2014 I have applied for renewal of my pr card though that time I have not met the requirement of 730 days. After a long process 2 days ago immigration officer issued a departure letter to me as I have not met the residency obligation during the period when I applied for renewal of my pr card.  They gave me an appeal form to appeal within 30 days. 

I want to appeal that decision.  In the meantime can I again apply for renewal of my pr card as I am living in Canada more than 800 days within last 5 years period (August 2013- November 2015).

If I appeal with the help of professional lawyer, can I leave Canada during the appeal process as my family members and my child live another country? 

dpenabill View Drop Down
Top Member
Top Member

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (1) Thanks(1)   Quote dpenabill Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 07 Nov 2015 at 9:00pm

Originally posted by Shoayeb Shoayeb wrote: