Canada Immigration and Visa Discussion Forum Homepage
Forum Home Forum Home > Canada Immigration Topics > Preserving Permanent Residence Status
  FAQ FAQ  Forum Search   Events   Register Register  Login Login

Re-entering Canada without PR card

Post Reply Post Reply Page  123 4>
Author

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote gerryfromktown Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Topic: Re-entering Canada without PR card
    Posted: 24 Jan 2010 at 6:35pm
Hi

I understand if I leave without a valid PR card (mine has expired), the commercial airlines will let me travel home as I have a German passport (visa-exempt country). And I understand the Canadian Immigration officer at the point-of-entry can allow me back into the country if they are satisfied that I am a permanent resident (i.e., they can check the database).

Has anyone tried this?

I want to fly to Denver in May, and there is no way I can get a renewal with the current processing times at 119(!) days. Plus I have to wait two weeks for the Supplementary Identification form IMM 5455 ...

Advice please!

Gerry
canvis2006 View Drop Down
Moderator Group
Moderator Group

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote canvis2006 Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 24 Jan 2010 at 11:45pm
Is the copy of COPR (IMM5292) stapled in the passport near the immigrant visa page in your passport?

There are instructions on how to obtain PR card urgently if you can include proof of travel.

You better make sure you are in compliance of residency obligations before you leave Canada without the PR card. The onus, ofcourse, is on YOU to be able to prove that.....

Check CIC website for instructions on how to apply for a PR card with faster processing....
gerryfromktown View Drop Down

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote gerryfromktown Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 25 Jan 2010 at 8:56am
Hi Canvis

Thanks for the quick reply.