Canada Immigration and Visa Discussion Forum Homepage
Forum Home Forum Home > Canada Immigration Topics > Skilled Worker / Independent Immigration
  FAQ FAQ  Forum Search   Events   Register Register  Login Login

New grad Work Permit, Job Offer & potential PR

Post Reply Post Reply
Author

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote hop Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Topic: New grad Work Permit, Job Offer & potential PR
    Posted: 11 Nov 2011 at 1:20pm
Hey guys,

So I graduated in Mech Eng from U of T in June 2010 and have been unemployed ever since but I've been doing part time here and there. Now there's an opportunity (unofficial job offer) as the test engineer position at this office furniture company in Toronto where I used to do an internship for a year while I was still in the University. I got my post-grad work permit that's expiring in July 2013 (as well as my passport).

The problem I'm having a problem with the company: they never hired a dude who's not Canadian as a full time worker before and they're concerned about what I will do when my work permit and my passport expire. They're willing to pursue with another candidate at this point but my old boss and I are still trying to get something going for me at this point. (I told them that I only need one year of full time job before I can apply for PR status until I found out a problem with CIC requirement below...)
The problem I'm having with my status: CIC requires that I work full time for a year within 2 years of getting this post-grad work permit (got it in Aug 2010, says the paper), which is now clear that I will not meet the requirement to apply for PR status after working for one year as I had assumed.

Here are my questions...